6161 Busch Blvd. Suite 100 Columbus, OH 43229-2553 Office: (614) 885-9590 Fax:(614) 885-6097 info@ohcouncilchs.org
“…so that they may be one, as we are one…” John 17:22b

The Ohio Council of Churches

The Ohio Council of Churches (OCC) is a partnership of 18 Christian faith denominations throughout the state. Established in 1919, Ohio is one of the oldest of the state ecumenical councils. Its seventeen denominations encompass some 4,500 congregations and more than 2,000,000 members. The Council co-sponsors various events and activities with other organizations.

The Board is comprised of each bishop and executive leader of the 27 judicatories. Funding for the Ohio Council of Churches is primarily from each judicatory.

The Foundation, Board of Trustees is entrusted with fiduciary responsibilities of endowment and investment. It is comprised of representatives from the various 28 judicatories of the Council. The Rev. Deb Oskin is Chair.

We are an Ohio expression of the worldwide ecumenical movement. Ecumenism is the quest for unity in diversity and the collaborative effort of the churches to be one in their witness and service to the world. Our mandate is to respond to Jesus' prayer: "that they may all be one...so that the world may believe." (John 17:21)

Added by Ximena as a Who We Are Article on Friday, May. 08 2015. Last viewed on Friday, Aug. 18 2017 | 517,360 views